Arizona Cultivation

Prop 203, the Arizona Medical Cannabis Act, has defenses constructed into it that will assist safeguard medical cannabis clients in the event of a federal crackdown. A crackdown on medical marijuana is not likely, but if Arizona’s medical cannabis program were ended by the feds, the state has laws that will protect medical cannabis clients and enable them to continue having access to medical cannabis. Tucson.com reports: As authorized by voters, the 2010 law enables people with particular specified medical conditions to be licensed by the state to acquire approximately 2.5 ounces of cannabis every 2 weeks, purchasing it through state-licensed dispensaries.

The law also states if the Arizona Department of Health Providers fails to release a medical-marijuana-user identification card within 45 days of getting a legitimate application or renewal, the card “will be deemed released” and a copy of the application certifies as a valid ID card. A different area says if the health department is not accepting applications, people can successfully self-certify by supplying the very same required info in a notarized statement along with the composed certification of a doctor that the patient requires the drug.

Governor Ducey, however, has always been against the voter-approved medical marijuana law. He stated, “I’ve constantly thought we should implement federal law, similar to we ought to impose state law.”

That, then, goes to the question of exactly what happens if federal representatives punish growers and dispensers and there’s no place for medical-marijuana patients to purchase it.

Here, too, the Arizona law has a treatment: Clients can simply grow their own.

The statute contains an arrangement enabling those who are not within 25 miles of a dispensary to mature to 12 plants for their own use. If there are no dispensaries, the more than 151,000 individuals who currently have state-issued medical-marijuana cards– and those who would self-certify in the future if the health department balks– all would be at least 25 miles from a state dispensary and all totally free to grow their own [cannabis]

Photo: greenrushdaily.com